Cundinamarca Department

Cundinamarca Department (Departamento de Cundinamarca - Spanish pronunciation: [kundinaˈmarka]) is one of the departments of Colombia. Its area covers 24.210 sq. km and has a population of 2,280,037. It was created on August, 5 of 1886div style="text-align:left; float:right; width:120px; margin-left:5px;">

under the constitutional terms presented on the same year. Cundinamarca is located in the center of Colombia and its capital is Bogotá.

According to the latest census conducted in 2005, 2,280,037 people live in Cundinamarca, excluding 6,776,009 of the capital, Bogotá. The racial makeup is:

* Mestizos and Whites (96.28-33%) - Mestizos are mixed European-Amerindian blood, but whites are about 40% of the population.

*The Bogotá Metropolitan area has a history of European (not limited to Spanish) and other Latin American immigration. There are large ethnic communities of Basques, Dutch, French, Germans, Italians, Portuguese and Syrians along with other Arabs (esp. Lebanese and Palestinians). The White Europeans tend to live in middle class and wealthy suburbs of Bogotá.

*Blacks or Afro-Colombians (3.33-37%)

*Indigenous/Amerindians (0.31-34%) - Very low percentage.

*Roma (Gitanos or Gypsies) (0.01%).

*East Asians (0.01%)- often of Chinese descent. About 25,000 Chinese-Colombians live in the department.

The city of Bogotá and the municipalities of Soacha, La Calera, Cota, Chia, Madrid, Funza, Mosquera, and Fusagasugá Facatativá Zipaquirá and form a single metropolitan area, in fact, being the most populous of the department with 8 million inhabitants and average density of 7,400 inhabitants per km ², one of the highest in the world.

Important Cities

Cundinamarca is made up of 126 municipalities, seven of which recorded a population of over 100,000 and could be considered as cities, which are: Bogotá, Soacha, Fusagasugá, Girardot, Facatativá, Zipaquirá and Chia, while Bogota District is in the category of Capital.

Bogotá D. C. : It is the largest city, populated and cosmopolitan of Cundinamarca and Colombia. Its economy is polisectorial, is the cultural, commercial, institutional and administrative Colombia's largest and one of the largest in Latin America. The Capital District is divided into 20 localities and population for 2005 is 6,776,009 inhabitants according to the DANE. The City has a metropolitan area that among others includes the municipalities of Soacha, Facatativá Chia and reaching a population of 7,881,156 people.

Girardot: In the far south-west and bordering Department of Tolima, is the capital of the Province of Alto Magdalena. Its main economic activity is centered in the trade as a result of a major tourist dynamics and its proximity to major agricultural areas of Tolima, it also has a college and important trade fairs and events.

Fusagasugá: Located in the Bogota-Girardot is an hour of each city. Capital of the Province of Sumapaz. It is an important focus of agricultural marketing and regional services, also standing as a city educator and a great university, with an increasing population trend. Its economy is mainly focused on trade and agricultural marketing, with a significant production of ornamental plants and flowers for export, so it is known as the garden city of Colombia.

Zipaquirá: Despite being part of the metropolitan area of Bogotá has managed to position itself as one of the most important centers of Colombia saline. Its economy is focused on mining and tourism.

Bogota Metropolitan Area: Comprises the towns of Soacha, Facatativá, Chia, Madrid, Funza, and Mosquera, among others. Its activities are centered in the industrial sector. Estate activity is important especially in the suburbs closer to Bogota : Chia, La Calera and Tocancipá. Other major towns are Ubaté due to high livestock and dairy production. Guaduas, is an important cultural center. Chocontá and Fred are agricultural centers.


Cundinamarca has 15 provinces and the Capital District of Bogotá (Bogotá D.C.), which simultaneously acts as capital of the Republic, capital of the Department and a District (or Department) in itself.

  1. Almeidas
  2. Upper Magdalena (Alto Magdalena)
  3. Lower Magdalena (Bajo Magdalena)
  4. Gualivá
  5. Guavio
  6. Central Magdalena (Magdalena Centro)
  7. Medina
  8. Eastern (Oriente)
  9. Rionegro
  10. Central Savanna (Sabana Centro)
  11. Western Savanna (Sabana Occidente)
  12. Soacha
  13. Sumapaz
  14. Tequendama
  15. Ubaté
For more information & Cundinamarca Department flag & other links of information, please visit this link.
120x240 - NEW Banner Save 70% Ongoing Static

Real Time Web Analytics


Did We Miss Anything?

Please note that all fields followed by an asterisk must be filled in.

Please enter the word that you see below.


Get a FREE Copy of Colombia-Travel-Magazine!

Please note that all fields followed by an asterisk must be filled in.

Please enter the word that you see below.


Hola! :-)


Hello! This is Todd & Johana. Welcome to Colombia-Travel-Magazine. Like you, we both love Colombia & all it has to offer.

Thank you for visiting our Internet home! Add your voice to the world by telling others your stories, tips, likes, & news by easily sending C-T-M the form located at the bottom of this page.

Let's join together and erase all the false & negative stereotypes Hollywood has presented.

Come on, lets have some fun & share our good times with others!

We work on all our Sites from home. They are our main source of income...a great income!

Click the Site Sell link below right now to see how you too can work from home! Any questions send us an email & we'll try to help you along. We'll help you achieve Internet success! eMAIL US HERE! twitter